Landmark: the Fields of Photography


Almost Nature #08 (above) and Baumschule #022 will be on display in Landmark: the Fields of Photography. The exhibition takes place at the Somerset House in London, from 14th March – 28th April 2013.

Focusing on our rapidly changing planet, ‘Landmark: the Fields of Photography’ features more than 130 original works of art taken by enterprising photographers employing technology ranging from 19th Century plate-camera techniques to the use of planes, drones, robots and even satellites to capture vivid images of earth’s varied terrain – and even distant planets. Many of the major names in photography are represented: Mitch Epstein, Nadav Kander, Robert Adams, Simon Norfolk, Hiroshi Sugimoto, Lee Friedlander, Simon Roberts, Toshio Shibata, Robert Polidori and many others contributing spectacular imagery. Also featured are striking images by a younger generation of photographers: Pieter Hugo, Susan Evans, Ivar Kvaal, Penelope Umbrico, Mathieu Bernard-Reymond, and others.

William A. Ewing, Curator of ‘Landmark: the Fields of Photography’ explains: “Landscape has been and remains one of the most powerful forms of photography, and is even more so in a world which is changing so fast we can hardly keep up. Rising seas, melting glaciers, the ozone hole, desertification and coastal cities under threat – we add to the list everyday. And photographers everywhere are grappling with these problems, creating brilliant pictures, which put a vivid face on otherwise abstract issues. These images range from the sublime to the ridiculous; photographers are on the front lines – our eyes and ears. But they also remind us to slow down and appreciate the beauty of the world – often where we least expect it.

Photographers to be included in ‘Landmark: the Fields of Photography’:

Alex MacLean, Alexandra Catiere, Amy Stein, Arno Minkkinen, Axel Hütte, Benoit Aquin, Byron Wolfe, Carlo Valsecchi, Charles March, Chris McCaw, Dan Holdsworth, Daniel Beltrà, Darren Almond, David Maisel, David Malin, Dodo Jin Ming, Edgar Martins, Edward Burtynsky, Elger Esser, Florian Joye, Gerco de Ruijter, Guillaume Brebisant, Harry Cory Wright, Hiroshi Sugimoto, Ivar Kvaal, Jamey Stillings, Jean-Baptiste Huynh, Jeffrey Blondes, Joan Fontcuberta, John Davies, John Stezaker, Justine Blau, Karin Apollonia Müller, Kent Rogowski, Lauren Marsolier, Lee Friedlander, Leonora Hamill, Liu Xiao Fang, Lois Hechenblaikner, Luca Campigotto, Marcus Lyon, Mark Klett, Mark Power, Mathieu Bernard- Reymond, Matthieu Gafsou, Michael Light, Michael Najjar, Mitch Dobrowner, Mitch Epstein, Nadav Kander, Naoya Hatakeyama, Nasa Planetary Science Division, Olaf Breuning, Olaf Otto Becker, Olivo Barbieri, Penelope Umbrico, Peter Bialobrzeski, Peter Knapp, Pierre Radisic, Pieter Hugo, Ray Metzker, Reiner Riedler, Robert Adams, Robert Bourdeau, Robert Davies, Robert Polidori, Robert Voit, Scott Conarroe, Simon Roberts, Simon Norfolk, Stéphane Couturier, Stephen Crasneanscki, Susan Derges, Susan Evans, Thomas Struth, Toshio Shibata, Walter Niedermayr, Yang Yongliang, Yao Lu.


Geef een reactie

Vul je gegevens in of klik op een icoon om in te loggen. logo

Je reageert onder je account. Log uit /  Bijwerken )

Google+ photo

Je reageert onder je Google+ account. Log uit /  Bijwerken )


Je reageert onder je Twitter account. Log uit /  Bijwerken )

Facebook foto

Je reageert onder je Facebook account. Log uit /  Bijwerken )


Verbinden met %s